Review: Miracle Creek by Angie Kim


15 Feb

The Details: Miracle Creek by Angie Kim; Farrar, Straus, Giroux; 368 pages Buy On Amazon

Blurb from Amazon: 

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we’ll go to protect our families—and our deepest secrets

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn’t even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . .

My take:

“...we all have our moments. But they’re just moments, and they pass.”


Miracle Creek is a story about those moments...the myriad forms they take, the time they take until they pass—if they ever pass—and mostly, it’s about the people who live in those moments. Miracle Creek is a human story. Each character lovingly written to be complex and flawed...to be human. Miracle Creek is about prejudice and rivalry and lust and love and pride (blinding pride that has the power to warp moments into something that lasts so much longer).   Miracle Creek is about lies—some big, others small—that shape moments into barbed things. Miracle Creek is about consequence and grief and here, that’s the most human moment of them all. 


Told as an unfolding courtroom drama (one of the better I’ve read) through multiple points of view, Miracle Creek doesn’t give up its secrets easily. Readers will work for them and enjoy doing so. I gave this beauty 4 enthusiastic stars! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


I was given this ARC through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  All opinions are my own.

Comments
* The email will not be published on the website.
I BUILT MY SITE FOR FREE USING